Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hello From Colorado Which Year is The Best??

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2009, 02:08 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hello From Colorado Which Year is The Best??

Hello from Colorado. I am new to the Land Rover forum and I first want to say I've really been getting some good ideas on which Discovery to buy. My freind has a 98 that he likes a lot ,but has had some electrical and steering problems. All fixed. What year and Model do you guys(and girls) reccommend? Are there are any models and years to stay away from?? Thanks in advancefrom a newbie.

Derby

Old 01-23-2009, 02:18 PM
TReK
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Hello From Colorado Which Year is The Best??

stay away from 03s....04s are good...if you are looking for a D1 Im not sure

Old 01-23-2009, 02:20 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

All have problems, 2004 i usually best, but most expensive. 2003 is good if it has over 90,000 miles or is out of the fuel pump vin 3A771801 – 3A808362 range , although it dose'nt have CDL (no problem unless your a major offroader.) My 2003 in right in the middle of the vin range, never had any problems. (the defect is some of the 2003's were built with a misalilined oil pump, and the only fix is a new engine).

for older models, 98-99 D1's are good. None are problem free, ALL require 91+ octane gas.

Old 01-23-2009, 02:29 PM
TReK
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts

What are you planning to use a Discovery for and how mechanically inclined are you? What kind of budget do you have for buying? I own a 97 and love it. Paid $3700 for this past summer in Denver. I have had the head gaskets and water pump replaced and constantly have some little problem to fix but I wouldn't give it up. There are no years that I would make a blanket stay away from but each year has it own quirks.

94-95 use a distributor igniton, 96-on have distributorless ignition.