Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The infamous Heater Core

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2013, 06:00 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The infamous Heater Core

So only had the 2000 disco II since July. But before that I was a Jeep re builder and decided to try my hand at a disco. A few things are new to me but the one thing I cannot figure out is why I am not getting any hot air to blow thru the vents. I flushed the system but decided to remove the rubber lines for the heater intake, out that connect to the aluminum pipes at the firewall. I had a hose fitting that would fit tight inside the tubes so I decided to try and see if anything would flow thru the heater core and I could not get any liquid to flow forwards, backwards, upsidedown, etc through the core. Obviously I looked thru the RAVE first and it did not show any type of control valve but I am wondering if there is one. I removed the glove box and under dash panel, didn't see where the lines connected to the firewall but I did follow the lines to the heater core and did not see any control valves in the way. Any comments or ideas? I do want to keep the heater core so I am not willing to bypass. Thanks

Old 10-29-2013, 08:11 AM
Three Wheeling

Sounds like a plugged core to me. Mine started leaking last year so I had to replace it, probably the easiest core I've ever changed. Good luck I've seen some people pour flushing solution straight into the core to loosen em up but they usually end up leaking after you start dumping chemicals in them. If that's the original core its done it's time..

Old 10-29-2013, 09:42 AM
Mudding

Did you use K-Seal, or any other sealant to prevent further head gasket leaks?

I did that on my last DII and it gummed up the heater core preventing it from blowing.

Just a thought.

Old 10-29-2013, 09:08 PM
Drifting

Originally Posted by 05gixxer