Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lifter noise issue.not going away

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2010, 08:25 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lifter noise issue.not going away

I have a 2002 Land rover with a 4 litre V-8. I bought around six months ago. It has approx. 80k miles

It runs good, but has had some valve or lifter type noise. At this point it seems that the lifters are ok, because rig runs so well? It just has the noise issue that's driving me nuts. But i am not a mechanic, so that is just a guess.

Sounds the worst at start up. Sound lessens after its warm, but usually sound is always there. It just lessens.

I took advice from members awhile back and did a few different things to try to fix problem.

I have cycled Marvel mystery oil 2 or 3 times.... i don't remember exactly. I used 1 quart each time, and I ran it for 500-1000 miles each time with 15w-40 oil and good WIX filter.

I replaced filter and oil after each cycle. The oil seemed very dirty every time, esp for the amount of time and miles it was used. It was very black.
So i'm thinking whoever had the car didn't change oil very often.

Today i did an oil change. I put in 10w 40 and a quart of Lucas oil. The Lucas oil is very thick, so thick it seemed strange. I Haven't driven much since so not sure if it will help at all.

My next idea was to try "Gunk Valve Medic" sounds good from what i have read, but i am wondering if it is the same as Marvel Mystery oil?

Thanks for help, any ideas are appreciated.

Aaron

Old 10-08-2010, 08:44 PM
TReK
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Now that you did the MMO stop adding crap to your oil (especially Lucas) and just keep using a HDEO like Rotella 15w40 or 5w40, it may take over a year to clean out. Otherwise if the oil pressure is fine ignore the noise. You may just have a worn valve train or lifters and are going to need to rebuild the top end.

Old 10-08-2010, 09:07 PM
Drifting