Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Light tapping/tick/knock - Bad Magnecors?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 08:50 PM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Light tapping/tick/knock - Bad Magnecors?

I have a 98 disco I that has a very light tick from the engine. I've tried to pinpoint the tick as close as I can, but can't really get a good feel for where it is. It sounds like it is in the camshaft area, but I notice the noise more when I am listening from the driver's side...so it may be from one of the lifters going up to the driver's side head.

Anyway, so far I've done an ATF flush and moved from 10W-30 to 10W-40 hoping that would help but I haven't heard a noticable difference. The previous owner ran regular I think, but I have been running premium since I got it about 6 months ago.

When I seafoamed, I saw some of the smoke bellowing out of the exhaust manifold gasket where the Y pipe and the manifold connects. Yesterday, I took the truck to a mechanic to see if he could find any exhaust leaks, but he said he couldn't find any. He didn't smoke the exhaust.

Tonight, I went to check my fluids (I do a couple times a week) and did so just by the light of my cell phone. After I checked the fluids, I started it up to see if anything has changed with the noise. Because it was dark, I noticed some faint light coming from the connections of a couple of my plug wires. It really wasn't a visible arc, more like a glow near the plug. These are new magnecor 8mm wires, only a couple of months old.

So my questions are:
Could the previous owner using regular gas be causing a constant spark knock or would that have gone away after I began using premium?

How can you tell a spark knock from a tappet or a rocker knock?

Should I take the truck to get the exhaust checked again and this time get it smoke checked?

If my plug wires are bad, could that possibly be contributing to my knock?