Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking at buying '99 Disco II, need help!

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2008 | 07:16 PM
|
1st Gear
Default Looking at buying '99 Disco II, need help!

Hi guys,
Long time LR fan looking at buying my first, a '99 Disco II w/83,000 miles. Got a couple questions and I could use a hand before I plunk down cash.

1. Read up and down about premium fuel - I'm a very good mechanic (restoring antique 4x4s a specialty) but is there a quick sitting-on-the-car-lot way to tell if the previous owners have been running premium and the valves are not carboned up? Has anyone ever tried running Seafoam through the motor to clear carbon? It worked wonders for a few of my older rigs.

2. Is the air suspension problematic?

3. While we're at it, what else about these rigs is problematic? Do you have an FAQ on this?

4. How do you check the tranny fluid? Went to sniff it on the lot today and couldn't find the dipstick. Again, is this another trouble point?

5. Does anyone have a picture of what the gas door latch is supposed to look like? I'm fairly sure this one's busted b/fc you need to close it with a credit card, but I don't know what it's supposed to look like. Searching turns up photos of a latch part that's obviously missing but I don't see how it fits into what's left over on the truck.

6. On the right (pass.) side of the trans hump there is a ball stud and a cut-off 4 or 5 wire harness. What was here? The wiring could have been from a nav system or CD player or something, but the ball stud worries me that it wasn't.

Thanks a lot, more questions to follow.

Darel

Old 12-28-2008 | 07:53 PM
TReK
Default RE: Looking at buying '99 Disco II, need help!

I will try to tackle a couple of these questions for you.