Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Low oil pressure again after new oil pump

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2010, 02:05 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Low oil pressure again after new oil pump

I’m new to Land Rovers but old to British and Italian cars.

My 98 Discovery 121 k miles is safely waiting at the local shop with low oil pressure.
Cold idle 12 psi and 2000 rpm 10 psi
Warm idle 8 psi and 2000 rpm 8 psi
The oil pump was replaced about 3000 miles ago by a knowledgeable Land Rover shop.

After I passed a car on the highway, the oil light flickered and then came on solid. I pulled over, turned off the engine, checked the oil = ok, and restarted the engine. No light, no bad engine sounds. It is now at the shop.

I bought this Disco about 3 months ago in Vancouver BC.
The LR was originally from California .
It came with great records of the work done by a knowledgeable shop.
Good tracking of recent oil changes, oil flush, oil light problem and a new oil pump etc.

I reviewed the current low oil pressure problem with that shop and have a good feeling that they did the work correctly. There are no bad motor sounds now and it seems that the oil is getting to all the right places, but with low pressure reading.

I live in a very remote area (2 hours to the nearest Starbucks) about a day’s journey from Vancouver. Plus my house and LR shop is under construction. This means I have to go with the local shop which has an excellent reputation but no experience with Land Rovers. I need help from my friends and not a new motor.

The oil pump was replaced, that should not be the problem
The oil pick up screen may be clogged – clean it.
The oil pressure relief valve my be stuck open – clean it or replace it.
The bearings may be worn – check them.

Based on these, I have instructed the shop this week to pull the oil pan, clean that sump area and check the bearings (thanks to this forum, I got this far).