Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Misfire Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2014, 08:47 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Default The Misfire Thread

Yes....the misfire.

Disclaimer: I am a total amateur/hobbyist at this. Read: I know just enough to be dangerous. You've been warned. Also, please feel free to comment and correct me as I'm sure it will be needed.

I'm starting this one for a couple of reasons:

1) I just bought a 2001 DII with P0307

2) I've spent HOURS searching and reading threads on this forum about misfires, and the lack of conclusion to most threads annoys me

3) I thought it would be a good idea to summarize the HOURS of reading to maybe help the next guy/gal out there.

So - your rover is misfiring huh? Welcome to the club, its a big one.

From my reading, there seem to be several recurring causes of misfires, leading to codes P0301, P0302, P0304, P0305, P0306, P0307, P0308, and a couple others that I'm sure someone will chime in on. All of these are fault codes which isolate a misfire to a given cylinder, or a combination of them. There is a general misfire code, (P0300?) that can also appear.

The possible causes:

1) Electrical - this basically is the combo of bad plugs/wires. Pretty straightforward, don't want to get too far into it. Just buy new ones and replace everything. I'm seeing mixed results on wire/plug choices, but I think it's safe to say that this would be a VERY good first step. It's also good maintenance in general.
*Coils* - this has been mixed reviews all around. Although they do go bad, most of the threads that mention them don't report replacing coils is either a)fun, or b) effective in curing their misfires.