Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Disco's

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2017, 02:25 PM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Disco's

So I am going to check out a 2001 Discovery SE7 tomorrow and I have been reading up on the sticky's and How too's a little bit. While I am a bit of a newb the land rovers I have been a professional technician for 14 years so there isn't much I haven't done or have seen. I am looking for a little insight before I check this thing out. I know of three problems this thing has right off the bat: rear air suspension sags, brake pedal is soft and rear tailgate doesn't open from the outside. He's asking $1,000 and it sounds like he's just trying to recover the $1,000 he's recently put into it. It has 110,000 miles ad looks pretty clean otherwise. I know I am supposed to check and see if it has the CDL or not. I also have access to an 04 that needs an engine but I was thinking it would make a great parts car. Any other suggestions?

Cheers!

Old 10-09-2017, 02:42 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 851 Likes on 634 Posts

Check the front and rear diveshafts for play/wear at the Universal joints also the rubber coupling on the rear driveshaft.

The following users liked this post:
Mattska (10-09-2017)
Old 10-09-2017, 02:51 PM
6th Gear

Yeah I will, I saw the write up on the front driveshaft u-joints. I will either replace them with serviceable units or get a reman one from GBR Utah.

Old 10-09-2017, 03:02 PM
TReK
Received 483 Likes on 406 Posts

Start with a budget...then triple it, lol.
Lucky8 has the lowest prices on quality parts too.

Old 10-09-2017, 03:12 PM
Received 368 Likes on 344 Posts