Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New member, new owner, couple questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2009, 08:05 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New member, new owner, couple questions

Hello all. After some research, I picked up a 1999 Discovery today with 116,000 miles. I looked at a 96, 2x97, and 1998 as well, and purchased the 1999.

I gave it as good an inspection as possible, and a good test drive, all seems well. Power windows work, no warning lights lit (except Service Engine Soon), smooth motor and transmission, sunroofs do not leak, passed VA state inspection 11/2009, etc.

After a few days reading over this site, I decided to do the 60k maintenance on whatever I purchased, starting with fluid/filter changes. The 60k sticky thread looks to be a big help.

I'm a fairly experienced shade-tree mechanic. I've done everything up to engine rebuilds on Jeep, Chevrolet, Ford, and turbo, and non turbo Porsche 944's. About the only thing I've never done is a Auto Transmission rebuild; have swapped a few though.

Questions:
1. I do not have an owners manual; is it downloadable somewhere?
2. For the Porsche 944, I was able to find a dealer service manual in *.pdf format, like 7 volumes; is this around the net for the Disco?
3. Still figuring out a few dash buttons; what is the proper sequence to engage Cruise Control? From reading, it seems a vacuum leak can render this inoperable, but maybe I'm not doin' the buttons right.
4. I want to keep a toolkit on board the disco; we using standard or metric tools here? Probably both huh?
5. Missing a center cap on one wheel, AB and RN have like 6 options; which is the correct one for the 16" wheels, anyone got one laying around to sell?
6. Any Land Rover clubs in the eastern Va area? Va Beach, Norfolk, etc.
7. How do you get the Service Engine Soon to go out? I've read that it is a service reminder light, not a trouble light; is this correct?