Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is This Normal Acceleration?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2018, 12:12 PM
Winching
Received 44 Likes on 34 Posts
Default Is This Normal Acceleration?

So I have a few of these embarrassingly simple questions coming up. I'm just going to try and spread them out to save face. My first question is in regards to acceleration.

I've recently completed a HG job and front cover bits. It took me a while but I finally have my Rover is good working order. I wanted to make sure I don't have any issues accelerating, but I don't have anything to compare against. I can pull out onto a busy road, but it can make me a little nervous. Another good example is accelerating onto the Interstate. It's pretty slow accelerating, but has no problem reaching top speed. Or when hitting a hill, it feels like its slow to accelerate, but it will get there eventually. Is this a symptom of the boxy V8, or is there any to be concerned about to check out. Besides the slow acceleration I have no other issues, no misfires, no idle problems, no codes.

I'm not sure if I'm just looking for a problem at this point but it would help put my mind at ease if I just new, "nope, that's just the way it is."

Old 01-08-2018, 12:16 PM
Mudding
Received 25 Likes on 22 Posts

Check that your accelerator cable is adjusted correctly.

Old 01-08-2018, 12:35 PM
TReK
Received 482 Likes on 405 Posts

I have my 04 apart for an engine rebuild(ticking, suspect slipped liner), but, otherwise it ran excellent, and has 122k miles.
For what it is, I was extremely impressed with it's acceleration, and it'll cruise at 80mph the same as 20mph.
I'm no stranger to speed either, as I've been riding sportbikes for 20+ years. And have ridden in some cars that'll run 9 second 1/4 miles like the bikes.