Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil Pressure Light flickered on two times

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-2016 | 04:20 PM
|
Overlanding
Default Oil Pressure Light flickered on two times

I'm new to both Disco ownership and message boards. I bought a 2004 SE with 85,200 miles on it from a used car dealer in New Jersey.
This is actually my second. The first was a 2000 I got on Ebay and was never titled due to the frame being rusted out.
This time, I took it directly to a Land Rover dealer and had them look at it.
There inspection indicated three leaks - Rear Main, Differential Case and Rear Differential Pinion Seal.
During the time between ordering the parts and scheduling an appointment, the Oil Pressure Light came on briefly (basically flashed) on two separate occasions but has been off since.
I told the shop about this and they said they would look into it. After two days, I received a call saying I should either sell or trade it in because it will be too much to repair, combined with the leaks.
I'm sorry to say, but I do not trust their comments. I have had some conspicuous dealings with them before with a Jag.
Long story short, what kind of pressure should I be looking for and what are the other possibilities that would cause the light to just flash briefly?

Old 06-15-2016 | 05:31 PM
Super Moderator

Try replacing the oil sending unit... They used to go nuts on the older RRC and D1's. I haven't had a D2 do that to me yet, but I've had plenty of other vehicles with flickering oil lights or oil messages due to a bad oil sending unit/sensor. If that doesn't work it could be a clogged pickup tube or like my 97 RR a bad pickup tube oring.