Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

One Two Days After Purchasing and I'm TICKED OFF

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2012, 11:32 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default One Two Days After Purchasing and I'm TICKED OFF

Bought my son his dream car an 03 Discovery II and thought I got a great deal. When I first saw it the dealer had their mechanic working on it. The front of the engine was apart at the roadside dealer and the mechanic was replacing the timing chain and oil pump to fix a very loud knocking sound. When I went back it purred like a kitten. Took it to a Land Rover mechanic and he gave it a clean bill of health so I purchased. Two days later the tapping sound started. Mechanic says it's common and its the first stage of the lifters going out. Says their is no rush to repair it but if it were him he would do all four lifters , valve job machine the head and replace head gasket. Price around $2,500. I am new to Rovers but have read at least 50 post on tapping noise. He said it does not sound like the cylinder sleeve slip. I have used Gunk engine flush changed oil with Rotella 15w40 and added Marvel Mystery & Sea Foam. It comes and goes but is still definitely there. My newbie questions are as follows:

1) Should I try anything else before committing to major dollars
2) If I do this how should I scope it in terms of telling him what I want done. I am looking for things like .... replace the cam, all new lifters, etc...
3) What is a reasonable price?

Sorry for another posts on tapping noises.

Old 06-18-2012, 11:46 PM
Winching