Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is it possible that I have a leak at the seal on the throttle body shaft?

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2021, 02:04 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 45 Likes on 30 Posts
Default Is it possible that I have a leak at the seal on the throttle body shaft?

I have been wrestling with a loss-of-power/stalling on my D2 for coming up on 2 months now ('04 HSE with 190K miles, stripped to bare block and rebuilt with flanged sleeves at 128K after a slipped sleeve). I've posted several threads already on it and have gotten lots of help.

Earlier this week I finally smoke-tested it for vacuum leaks (what someone recommended I do first -- but I'm a guy, so why follow good advice) and found a big one one at that quick connect elbow from the EVAP purge valve to to the intake manifold (the barb had basically disintegrated).

Fixed that and all seemed good, so took it for a test drive, and after 5-10 miles the same loss-of-power/stalling symptoms came back, and I barely managed to nurse it home, stalling a couple of times along the way.

I put the smoke machine on it again (a homemade paint can model) and noticed that there appears to be another leak: it looks like smoke is now coming out from underneath/around the accelerator spring. (see pic). Given how much smoke came out from the broken elbow on the opposite side of the throttle body, I am thinking I might have missed this the first time around.

Could I have a leak at the throttle body shaft seal (I am guessing it seals with an o-ring)? If so, can it be repaired? Has anyone done it (replaced the seal on the throttle body shaft)?