Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rancho Shock Question

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2009, 03:46 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Rancho Shock Question

I know that generally people on this forum think that Rancho's are junk, but I've had very good experience with them in the past. I have had RS 9000 in several vehicles including a 3/4 ton Dodge Cummins, a jacked up Chevy 3/4 ton pickup (Dual lockers, 38" Swampers, Dana 60/70s and all the other goodies for a bulletproof wheeling experience) and a couple of other vehicles that were by no means lightweights or trailer queens. In all the miles and abuse I had put them through, I never had a single one fail. I absolutely agree that Bilsteins are a far superior shock and I have no experience with OME shocks, but have I just been lucky with my Ranchos? I really liked the "tuneability" of the Ranchos. I always used the ones with the dial and never the goofy air compressor set up, but with a bit of fine tuning I always got a perfect ride quality and also a good setting for the type of wheeling I happened to be doing at the time. Again, I absolutely agree that there are a number of far superior and more technologically advanced shocks out there, but $800+ for a set of shocks is pretty steep.
With this in mind, what have people used here that gives the best on road ride quality and good low speed offroad performance? Are there other tuneable shocks that are also reasonably priced?
I have an '01 D2 with stock suspension and stupid street tires which mostly kills my ride quality, but I will get a second set of wheels and tires for playing when my wallet is a bit fatter. (Hahahaha, I have a Land Rover...fat wallet, good one) My Disco has 63k miles and I think the shocks are original. I don't have any wear issues, but stock shocks are marginal at best, even when new.

No ACE nor SLS, just good ol springs
Thanks everyone.