Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ready to buy new Motor!! Help!

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2010, 01:47 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Question Ready to buy new Motor!! Help!

Ok, I have been posting asking for assistance for the past year or so with my blown 04' DiscoII 4.6L w/secondary air engine. I have just now secured $4,500 to find and replace the engine. I have seen some websites such as www.car-parts.com with some decent looking options around $3,300.00 that would leave me with $1,200 remaining to have this locally recommended guy to do the job, which he will do it for that price.

Does anyone have other recommendations as to where to find a motor??

Should I let him find the motor and hope he gets me a better price??

I have plenty of experience with cars and have replaced motors before, so should I just do the job myself??

Replacing it myself leaves me no warranty on the job but it will have 30day on the motor itself. This route could save me up to $1,500. If I have this shop do it, I would be shelling out every dollar but I guess I would have somebody to fall back on if something goes wrong. But I also feel that if something were to go wrong, I could diagnose it and fix it on my own without too much trouble.

What are your thoughts on these options, and do you have any different ideas?? I plan to start everything on Monday. Thanks alot and I cant wait to have this running after a year down time!!

Old 12-18-2010, 01:57 PM
Rock Crawling

Also, what about the long block option?? Can I just pull my motor swap parts over and it should be ok??

Old 12-18-2010, 02:12 PM
Winching
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts