Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recommended Winter Tires?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2012, 04:11 PM
TReK
Received 86 Likes on 59 Posts
Smile Recommended Winter Tires?

Alright so in the next few months I'm going to be shopping for some high end aggressive winter tires to get me through another notorious New England winter. I live on a steep mountain, and deep snow and black ice are to common around here. The vehicle is a 2004 Discovery, no mods no lift kits. 18" alloy rims. What do you suggest? I prefer non studded as NH law says they have to be off the road by a specified deadline and I don't feel like dealing with that hassle. Again I'm looking for something really aggressive with lots of grip, yet still compatible with standard 18" rims. If you add pictures of the suggested tires then that would be good to.

Thanks all! I'm still a newb when it comes to tires!

Old 08-17-2012, 05:15 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

For the sake of cost, I would suggest you buy a used set of factory 16" wheels and install something like a 245/75/16 snow tire of your choice, keeping these for the winter and your 18's for the summer. The reason I am suggesting this is 18" snow tires are really expensive.

Old 08-17-2012, 05:18 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Order 16 rims from Atlantic british .and use Bridgestone blizzak snow tires u will also need
A set of lug nut.

Old 08-17-2012, 06:12 PM
Winching
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Just bought a very nice set of LR 16" rims off eBay for $ 99.00. Can't believe I scored them for this price. They look brand new. Can't wait to save 400.00 on new tires vs the cost of my 18".

Old 08-17-2012, 06:17 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post