Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removing Fender Flares

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2007, 09:07 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removing Fender Flares

I'm new here and I am looking for some help with my 03 Disco II. My Fender Flares are very worn and I have bought new ones to replace them. I know its just adhesive, but has anyone here every removed these before? Thanks a ton.

Cheers,

Mb

Old 03-22-2007, 02:04 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Removing Fender Flares

Hi,
I have some experience with these puppies.I replaced mine a couple of years ago because of UV fading damage.Actually Land Rover Canada supplied all brand new replacments just before the warranty ran out.I'm in the collision business so I've had lots of experience with automotive trim.I wish I could tell you they come off quick,but that's just not the case.If you have no experience doing this kind of task,I would strongly suggest you bring the truck to the dealer or your local auto body shop because it will require a skilled hand to remove the old flares and adhesive without damaging the paint.Trust me on this,spend a few extra bucks and have someone who has the right equipment and skill tackle this one,because it can be a bugger of a job.

Old 03-22-2007, 04:34 PM
7th Gear

Thanks for the tip! I really appreciate it. I'm only about 60 mins from a LR dealership so it should be a problem. have a good one!

-Mike

Old 03-22-2007, 04:52 PM
Administrator
Received 100 Likes on 82 Posts

I have had to remove some of the molding parts from my 99 D2. I ffouund that a hair dryer held at a distance while pulling off the moldings work great, just let the heat loosen the glue strips and your set.
Mike

Old 03-23-2007, 12:25 PM
7th Gear

Hey Thanks Mike,

Any particular angle for this in terms of from underneath or over the top?

Later,

MikeB

Old 03-23-2007, 02:35 PM
Administrator
Received 100 Likes on 82 Posts