Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rover LT230, or Borg Warner transfer geabox?l

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 02:24 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 25 Likes on 16 Posts
Default Rover LT230, or Borg Warner transfer geabox?l

Now that I have had extensive experience, long term using of LT230 transfer gearbox in my 2004 Discovery, and using of Borg Warner viscous coupling transfer gearbox in my 1991 classic Range Rover, I thought that I would share here on this site, my impressions of both gearboxes, especially in view of fact that many guys switch out their Born Warner for the LT230:

The LT230 is a Land Rover designed and made gearbox, while the Borg Warner is designed and made by Borg Warner, of course.

The LT230 transfer gearbox is gear drive, transferring power from the transmission to the front and rear differentials via. GEARS. Further, it has capability for center locking, for temporary use locking front/rear transfer. The downside of this center diff. lock is that if not used properly, one can wind up this center differential, transfer gearbox, and literally destroy itself and/or other drive train components, such as front differential, front hubs, etc. I have done this, so I know it is quite easy to do, if you don't use locking LT230 properly.

The Borg Warner transfer gearbox is CHAIN drive, transferring power from the transmission to the front and rear differentials via. a huge wide CHAIN.

Some guys say the LT230 is a stronger gearbox, while others say the Borg Warner is a stronger gearbox; some say they are equally strong.