Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Seized 4WD low gear selector.

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2007, 01:58 AM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seized 4WD low gear selector.

I have just purchased a '98 Discovery I. It's been pretty beat all around, especially the interior with cigarrette burns etc. But mechanicly it seems sound. It has had the head gaskets replaced about 30,000mi ago along with a reconditionning of the heads. It has never been used for off road. I have started the 60k service. I am also servicing all the brakes, fixing oil leaks etc.

Going over the vehicle, I noted the transfer case selector is seized. I am new to LandRover. I don't know if you have to move the shifter left or right before moving it forward and back. I proceeded to remove the center console and I removed the shifter boot. I can see two levers connecting to the xfer case. Both apear to be stuck. I don't know how much force to apply here. Considering the truck has been used for city driving, I'm hoping it's only a case of lubricating.
Attached is a picture. You can see I have started to take some pins out to asses which levers are seized.
Do both levers move independantly or is there a sequence to follow?
I've downloaded several versions of the RAVE software, but can't find any with info on DI. They all have DII.
I also downloaded the parts catalogue, but require the dongle to run. Is there a crack for this? My local dealer is pretty much useless unless I give them a part number.

Thanks

Frank

[IMG]local://upfiles/8335/B9531AAFCA2A4B45BD07583ADF186668.jpg[/IMG]

Old 10-28-2007, 03:37 AM
Mudding
Default RE: Seized 4WD low gear selector.