Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thanks and a few Head Gasket Tips

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2015, 02:21 PM
Mudding
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Thanks and a few Head Gasket Tips

Over the Christmas holiday my dad and I had the pleasure of doing a head gasket repair job on my 2001 Disco. I had a local shop do my head gasket repair back when I first purchased it, but I found out over the years that I like working with my hands (mainly because it's different than my real job which requires me to be at a desk), so my dad and I decided to do it ourselves. With the Rave manual and the search feature on this website - it’s really not very difficult. Just time consuming.

I really don't know that I have a lot of additional knowledge to give to the community which has not already been covered, but I have a few things that people may be of interest to you or help you save a few bucks.

1. I purchased this set of Victor Reinz gaskets from Amazon and, although it says that it does not come with valve seals or intake plenum gasket, the set that I received had both of them.

Amazon.com: Victor Reinz Cylinder Head Gasket Set: Automotive Amazon.com: Victor Reinz Cylinder Head Gasket Set: Automotive

2. After much deliberation, we decided to go with the ARP studs. I figured that the last head gasket job only lasted 50k miles with the TTY bolts, so why not try something else. I purchased the following set from Amazon and to answer your questions - yes, it is cheaper than the other ARB set and it includes the correct studs and a few "bonus" studs.

Amazon.com: ARP 124-4003 6-Point Head Stud Kit: Automotive Amazon.com: ARP 124-4003 6-Point Head Stud Kit: Automotive