Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Towing with a Disco II

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 12:14 AM
Mudding
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Towing with a Disco II

Hey folks. I just got my first D2. I’m stationed overseas, and she’s happily sitting at my sisters house for now. It’s a very clean and straight 2000, in Kent Green. It’s got TF springs and shocks, but stock size 16” tires. I’m assuming Medium duty because it doesn’t appear to be lifted in the photos I have.

My wife and I are looking to get a small travel trailer when we get back and wondered about others’ experience towing with these. I understand they’re a big lumbering 4x4 and not the best for towing.

The trailers we’re looking at are between 17-24’ long, and between 3000-4500 lbs dry. I’d be using a weight distributing hitch, and a brake controller.

I have a lot of experience towing, so I understand the risks of sway and bobbing down the road. Just curious what experiences you guys have had. I’ve seen photos of D2’s towing other D2’s, but that’s about it.

Obviously it needs to be in the best mechanical shape it can be before we ever plan to tow with it, so ensuring that is my first priority.

Thanks for any insight.

Old 11-09-2017, 08:29 AM
Mudding
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

I've towed a lot with my Discovery. I'd be hesitant to tow anything 24ft.
I did tow a 24 ft empty trailer around town, it was a bit bouncy & I'd be hesitant to take it on the highway. I might be paranoid though.
I towed the Alpine & 911 through the mountains with no issues. I don't remember the weights on them. I think the U-haul trailer is 1500lbs or so, and around 16ft overall.
I towed the D2 on flat roads for around 100 miles. Aside from the dolley not having brakes, it pulled the weight fine. I wouldn't want to go much heavier, and it would probably be a struggle with some mountains.