Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Toyota FJ62 lover ready to convert!

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2011, 04:07 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Toyota FJ62 lover ready to convert!

Ok, I am new to the whole LR thing. I want to buy a 2001-2003 discovery and need some help PLEASE!! These are the years in my price range. I like the 2003 obviuosly because of the engine and other improvements. I have researched a bit and found some disturbing info with the '03 model. Is it true that LR had a major oil pump/block issue the first year with the bigger V8?? I'm all about regular PM and actually like to wrench and keep with this but in no way am I about to spend ten grand on a "ticking time bomb"! I hear that they have a VIN range to stay away from but have heard that is not to be trusted? I have always loved the Discovery and want one soo bad, but I am scared!! I see alot for sale with Low mileage with blown motors or that have had total engine replacement and/or been overhauled with what I think is low mileage (70-100,000 miles) Is it the actual block the defect or just the Oil pump? Is there a improved pump to upgrade before a major problem? Help please! Thank you!!

Old 02-16-2011, 04:26 PM
Winching
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts

Why the '03? from mid-2001 up to the end of the 2003 model year, the D2's didn't come with a transfer case that could be locked. A lot of people seem to feel that the 1999's and 2004's were the best of the model years.

The 4.6l v8 in the 2003's did have problems, but the problems weren't completely isolated. The problem identified specifically with the 2003's was something to do with bad alignment of the oil pump mounting pins on the block, so the only true fix is replacement of the engine. All of the D2 engines are aluminium blocks, so they have problems any time they are overheated.