Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Transmission Issues?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2017, 04:25 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Issues?

I'm a newbie here. I have a 1999 Discovery II and I love this thing. But the more I drive it, the more issues I find with it. The most recent has me puzzled. It started out with a "slipping" in 4th gear. Mainly on hills and around 45 mph. My girlfriend was going to be driving it and said she wanted to change the spark plugs to see if it fixed it. And yes, it needed them, but I didn't think it would do a thing to it. Low and behold, the issue was gone! But about a week later, it developed a new "slipping" issue. If you start out from a stop, it will feel like it's in neutral. The engine revs, but it goes no where. Then it engages and goes like normal. It will also jump forward in reverse sometimes. And it does not always do it. It seems to have plenty of power after it does it, like there was never a problem. I am thinking the XYZ switch is dirty since that is a common problem, but wouldn't the M+S lights come on? Or is there anything else that I should be looking at. I'm hoping for an easy fix, but something is telling me this is a very bad issue... :/ Any help would be appreciated and that k you in advance!

jerm

Old 02-22-2017, 05:30 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 112 Likes on 108 Posts

Originally Posted by autoxr84