Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Used key fobs

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
  #11  
Old 11-11-2011, 08:25 AM
foobar's Avatar
6th Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I looked up the checksum calc. This is the real code.

*FFFFFFFF40E4D1R*

thx
 
  #12  
Old 11-11-2011, 08:35 AM
jafir's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,847
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by foobar
I looked up the checksum calc. This is the real code.

*FFFFFFFF40E4D1R*

thx
ok. I'll try that.
 
  #13  
Old 11-11-2011, 08:50 AM
jafir's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,847
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts
Default

This one didn't work either, but I only tried it once, and no guarantee that I didn't mess up. I'm in a hurry to get to work, so I'll try again later tonight.
 
  #14  
Old 11-11-2011, 09:20 AM
threalassmikeg's Avatar
Rock Crawling
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 480
Likes: 0
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

You need to go to the dealer give thme the numbers on the plip and they can get you the correct bar code for your plip. No body elses will work pm me the number on each plip you have
 
  #15  
Old 11-11-2011, 07:31 PM
foobar's Avatar
6th Gear
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

That is not true. Several of the scan tools can duplicate the data from the 6 digit code on the key. Now with a final couple of data points I can also.

Generating the codes is not that hard.

If anybody wants the original barcodes generate from the code on the back of the key I can crank them out.

If you don;t believe me, feel free to post several random 6 digit sequences. I can make a barcode and you can check them to prove...

thx
 
  #16  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:17 AM
brad_ramsey's Avatar
Drifting
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Default dicso2 barcode algorithm

I spent a couple of hours researching and finally deciphering the algorithm to generate disco2 barcodes. I have written some Octave code to create the barcodes given an inner code and a prefix. My function, plipcodes, is posted below. But first, some caveats:

- The procedure produces correct barcodes for all the valid barcode examples that I could find via a google search, mostly from Youtube videos showing how a Nanocom (or similar device) is used to program keys. I did find a few hits that reported bad codes.

Here are my examples:

1. Inner code: 26AFA7
Reported barcodes:
*G26AFA726AFA6FFG*
*FFFFFFFFD95058V*

plipcodes output:
octave:2> [code1,code2] = plipcodes('G','26AFA7')
code1 = *G26AFA726AFA6FFG*
code2 = *FFFFFFFFD95058V*

2. Inner code: 404223
Reported barcodes:
*J404223404222FFZ*
*FFFFFFFFBFBDDCN*

plipcodes output:
octave:3> [code1,code2] = plipcodes('J','404223')
code1 = *J404223404222FFZ*
code2 = *FFFFFFFFBFBDDCN*

- The first code starts with a letter that cannot be gleaned from the inner code. I suspect that this letter indicates the market for the FOB (North America, Europe, etc.) but I have no way to verify this. All of the keys that I have seen example codes for start with 'G' or 'J'. If anyone has information about this letter I would appreciate learning about it.

- I still cannot get my Hawkeye to program a used key using my generated codes.
I have a key that used to work, but stopped and has possibly "lost sync." I generated the barcodes using my algorithm and then used the Hawkeye to program those codes, but no luck. Unlike the Nanocom, the Hawkeye does not support a separate "sync key" function that may explain the failure. BearMach (the makers of the Hawkeye) do not claim to be able to program used keys.

- The function below is written for Octave, a Matlab-like program available free from http://www.gnu.org/software/octave/download.html.
To use this function, save the text below into a file called plipcodes.m and start Octave. Change the current working directory to the one that contains the new file. Then try a command like one of the examples above.

# This function generates the Land Rover barcodes
# for a Discovery II remote
# Input: prefix letter and inner code from sticker inside the key fob as strings
# Output: Two codes for use with a programming tool
# Example: [code1,code2] = plipcodes('G','26AFA7')
# code1 = *G26AFA726AFA6FFG*
# code2 = *FFFFFFFFD95058V*
# Copyright Brad Ramsey 4 April 2013
# This program is free for non-commercial use. *For commercial use please send an email to bradley.ramsey at gmail.com
# Revision History
# 3 April 2013: Added a missing space character to the code39 character set.
# Added the ability to compute codes from an inner code that ends in a '0'
# 4 April 2013: Fixed decrement string length bug

function [code1Str,code2Str] = plipcodes(prefix,innercode)
#Generate the first code
if size(innercode) != 6
disp('Code is not 6 chars [0-9,A-F]')
return;
end
innercode = toupper(innercode);
decrementedValStr = ['0' dec2hex(hex2dec(innercode)-1)];
buildStr = ['*' prefix innercode decrementedValStr(end-5:end) 'FF'];

# Generate the check character based on the code 39 barcode standard
code39Chars = ['0123456789ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ-. $/+%'];
code39Sum=0;
for i = 2:16
charVal = findstr(buildStr(i),code39Chars)-1;
code39Sum = code39Sum + charVal;
end
checkVal = mod(code39Sum,43);
checkChar = code39Chars(checkVal+1);
code1Str = [buildStr checkChar '*'];
#code1StrHawkeye = [buildStr '*']

# Generate the second code
build2Str = "*FFFFFFFF";
invertedInnerCode = dec2hex(bitxor(hex2dec(innercode),hex2dec('FFFFFF' )));
build2Str = [build2Str invertedInnerCode];
# Generate the check character based on the code 39 barcode standard
code39Sum=0;
for i = 2:15
charVal = findstr(build2Str(i),code39Chars)-1;
code39Sum = code39Sum + charVal;
end
#code39Sum
checkVal = mod(code39Sum,43);
checkChar = code39Chars(checkVal+1);
code2Str = [build2Str checkChar '*'];
#code2StrHawkeye = [build2Str '?*']
 

Last edited by brad_ramsey; 04-04-2013 at 12:20 PM. Reason: bug fix
  #17  
Old 12-06-2012, 11:32 AM
jafir's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,847
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by brad_ramsey
- I still cannot get my Hawkeye to program a used key using my generated codes.
I have a key that used to work, but stopped and has possibly "lost sync." I generated the barcodes using my algorithm and then used the Hawkeye to program those codes, but no luck. Unlike the Nanocom, the Hawkeye does not support a separate "sync key" function that may explain the failure. BearMach (the makers of the Hawkeye) do not claim to be able to program used keys.
I've programmed used (my original) keys twice with my hawkeye. Once because I replaced the BCU and once because my other rover got confused in the BCU. But I had to get the number from threalassmikeg. (thanks!)

If your codes are correct, you should be able to use hawkeye to program them. One thing to note, is that you have to enter to asterisks and when you get to the very end, hawkeye might expect a couple more characters. You can leave them the default of whatever pops up. I think it uses the last asterisk as the delimiter, so that it ignores anything after it.
 
  #18  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:03 PM
04duxlr's Avatar
Pro Wrench
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Duxbury MA
Posts: 1,462
Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

An Autologic can program them from the numbers in the fob: http://www.autologic-diagnostics.com...rogramming.pdf
 
  #19  
Old 12-06-2012, 12:21 PM
jafir's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,847
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 04duxlr
An Autologic can program them from the numbers in the fob: http://www.autologic-diagnostics.com...rogramming.pdf
Have you priced one? They are like $12,000. http://www.worldpac.com/pdfs/autologic_flier.pdf

A hawkeye or nonocom can be had for $500 or less. Though the nanocom might be able to do the same thing that autologic does, program keys with just the 6 digit code. But if you already have a hawkeye, an algorithm like this is great.
 
  #20  
Old 12-06-2012, 04:36 PM
brad_ramsey's Avatar
Drifting
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 41
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jafir
I've programmed used (my original) keys twice with my hawkeye. Once because I replaced the BCU and once because my other rover got confused in the BCU. But I had to get the number from threalassmikeg. (thanks!)

If your codes are correct, you should be able to use hawkeye to program them. One thing to note, is that you have to enter to asterisks and when you get to the very end, hawkeye might expect a couple more characters. You can leave them the default of whatever pops up. I think it uses the last asterisk as the delimiter, so that it ignores anything after it.
I did enter the asterisks and my codes.... I'm beginning to wonder about the algorithm. Would you mind sending me an example inner code (from the sticker inside the fob) and the working barcodes that you used? I'm wondering if my algorithm mistakenly puts the innercode into the first barcode instead of the second. Actually, can you simply confirm which code contains a copy of the inner code (the one starting with eight F's or the first one).

Second, I'm wondering if I'm missing a step in using the Hawkeye. After the "Programming Key" message appears on the display, what do you do next? Do you have to press a button on the fob?

Thanks,

Brad
 


Quick Reply: Used key fobs



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.