Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Where I think it all started. Bad M.P.G

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2007, 06:47 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Where I think it all started. Bad M.P.G

Guys, I was just again put in front of the fact that my Disco really is only getting 9-10 m.p.g.

I've red, and participated in different conversation on the mather, and even if I tell myself that it's winter up here in Canada, the gas is winter gas , and the incredible cold we've been getting makes it worst due to the thickness of the oils and stuff, this kind of mileage is absolutely unacceptable unless your driving a huge lifted Hummer. I've got friends with H2 and huge Armadas that get better milleage than me. And I'm a very easy andpacific driver.

But I was thinking about it all. I changed my after cat O2 sensors about a month ago, and it's been this hard on gas since then. How could this be explained???? Would it mean that the before the cats ones have to be changed also???

The codes from the ones that went bad were erased when I changed them.

Old 02-19-2007, 07:11 PM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts
Default RE: Where I think it all started. Bad M.P.G

You are not giving us anything to work with, Year, model , miles and tune up history?
How much of your driving is city how much on the road?
Mike

Old 02-19-2007, 07:32 PM
Recovery Vehicle

Sorry, You're absolutely right. 2000 D2, 52000 miles, plugs were changed 2 weeks ago to try and solve this problem, wich didn't work. I had a K&N air filter that I removed yesterday, to reinstall my stock new one( thanks to you).I've got the ACE system which is an additional pulley to turn.

The only thing I can think of, is those 2 O2 sensors that I changed with LR OEM ones. It's been exactly since then that I've been getting such bad milleage. My question is why ???

Old 02-20-2007, 12:14 PM
Recovery Vehicle

So....Can new O2 sensors cause this ???