Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: Would you want a detailed write up on deleting the SAI?
Yes, that sounds awesome, I've been wanting to know how.
97.96%
No, no one should ever attempt this because its a waste of time.
2.04%
Voters: 49. You may not vote on this poll

Would anyeone be interested in a write up to delete the Secondary Air Injection?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2014, 01:58 PM
Mudding
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Question Would anyeone be interested in a write up to delete the Secondary Air Injection?

Haven't logged in for awhile but always am searching through here for quick fixes or to see if you guys have encountered some of the weird things I come across at work I am a tech at Rover Cannibal (now Car Cannibal) in Oklahoma City. Recently we had a customer that wanted his low mile "custom" engine from his rusty 1999 D2 installed into a 2004 D2. The main issue was that the 2004 had the SAI system where as the 1999 did not and trying to save him the cost of swapping the cylinder heads we decided to tackle completely removing the SAI while also keeping all of the check engine lights off and every system functioning properly. It is possible without having a special ECU or aftermarket company reprogramming it. Contrary to what I have read and found online with everyone saying it was impossible.

Located in Oklahoma we do not have emissions tests and this would only be applicable for states that do not require or for off road only vehicles.

It will be a pretty lengthy write up to make it clear enough for everyone to understand. Now that I know exactly what to do it should be easily doable for the average mechanic.

So my final thought is are there enough people wanting this write up or are people not really doing this sort of thing?

The following users liked this post:
annette (02-03-2018)
Old 06-07-2014, 02:58 PM
Super Moderator
Received 95 Likes on 90 Posts

I say do it.