General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone have expertise with headliner refurbishment?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2014, 11:35 AM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone have expertise with headliner refurbishment?

Looking for some guidance on refurbishing my headliner on a 93 RRC.

I removed it yesterday very carefully and once I got it out and stripped off the fabric and scrubbed it down with a stiff bristle brush, I see that several areas are fractured and overall, the edges especially are in pretty dismal shape.

The rear corner on the drivers side is just shot and has lost all rigidity.

As the thing is very clearly made of some type of fiberglass - I am going to assume that it can be repaired in some fashion?

I have zero experience with fiberglass - but I'm guessing some of you folks have some tips and tricks for this?

I could just glue on some new foam-fabric and re-install it, but I really want this to look like factory new - and I intend to restore this RRC fully and to the very best of standards.

Let me know your thoughts on this - thanks.

SMD

Old 03-29-2014, 02:44 AM
Drifting

So, no one had any feedback on this…..maybe it was too obvious that it was simply a basic, garden variety fiberglass repair job….which I personally had never done……until today. I obtained a very cost effective "Bondo" kit from my local DIY shop here in MS. I reinforced the areas of the headliner that were weak and messed up from removal/reinstallation…..here are some pix. The headliner areas that were "broken" or weakened by multiple removal/reinstall were repaired and strengthened by applying the fiberglass patch kit - my first attempt was **apparently** successful - and now the headliner is ready for recovering. Will post more info/pix as I move further into this job. Thanks.