General Range Rover Discussion - Archived Archived threads for all Range Rover discussions.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What's white, has a V8, sits in my driveway, but doesn't start...My '90 RR Classic

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2009, 10:53 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry What's white, has a V8, sits in my driveway, but doesn't start...My '90 RR Classic

Hey guys -

This is my first time to post a message so I'm really hoping you guys can lead me in the right direction!

I have a 1990 Range Rover Classic that has absolutely stumped me and several others as well. I thought I would come to the pros to get it done once and for all. I apologize in advance for the length of the message but I wanted to make sure you had all the details as to what's going on. So here goes...

The problem I'm having is with the fuel pump wiring (as best I can tell). I can get the pump to fire up and the car starts with no problems. I can only get this to happen when I hard wiring the fuel pump to a car battery (not installed in the car). I am using the wiring harness (female side connector) that comes right from the top of the fuel pump itself. There is a brown (negative) and a blue with white stripe (positive). I run a wire from positive fuel pump wire to positive battery terminal and a wire from negative fuel pump wire to negative battery terminal. This works with the fuel pump and tank installed in the car or if I have dropped the tank (had to use some extra fuel line to connect lines)