General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

96 Discovery HELP!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2006, 11:06 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 96 Discovery HELP!!!!

Hey all,
I am a female college student who decided to get rid of my saturn for a land rover...and now I am wondering if I did the right thing! I need to hear some positive things about Land Rovers, and although this may not be the best car for me, I really really want to love it because it is SO beautiful! If anyone has any tips and pointers in maintaining this car and giving it the TLC it deserves (which I know nothing about cars at all!) Please let me know! So far my mechanic has told me of numerous leaks, and a problem with a leak in the rear main seal...but do I need to fix these? (it's so expensive) Or is it more important to just make sure the fluids are full at all times? This car HAS to last untill I am done with college (2yrs) and has 114K, Any tips on how I can maintain this car would be great! Thanks!

Old 02-08-2006, 10:29 AM
TReK
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: 96 Discovery HELP!!!!

Well all Rovers leak the Disco I's more than the others.
The good news is you just need to check the oil more often .
Try a high mileage oil it may slow down the leak.
Find a Rover club and join , they can help with the little stuff.
The Disco I parts are cheaper that Disco II parts and easier to work on.

Old 02-08-2006, 04:26 PM
3rd Gear

How do I find a Rover Club?

Old 02-08-2006, 06:27 PM
TReK
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Check www.solihullsociety.org/

Old 02-21-2006, 10:27 PM
4wd Low