General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

98 Disco 1wheel swivel leak??

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2018 | 01:21 PM
|
4th Gear
Angry 98 Disco 1wheel swivel leak??

I've recently lost the use of my brakes. no pressure when depressed. after looking I've noticed a build up of what I think is brake fluid under the swivel on the inside of the wheel hub. I'm assuming a bad seal, but I've also seen people say it has something to do with the diff. my question is what would be the best course of action to take on the matter? I have the workshop manual, but I can't seem to find anything showing how to disassemble the hub, and I'm fairly new to working on my disco.. any information helps. thanks in advance.

Old 01-28-2018 | 03:12 PM
Pro Wrench
Old 01-28-2018 | 03:16 PM
Pro Wrench

And part two for the reassembly

Old 01-28-2018 | 04:33 PM
|
4th Gear

Thank you! ill check these out.

Old 01-28-2018 | 04:46 PM
Pro Wrench

Originally Posted by xnomadx
I have the workshop manual, but I can't seem to find anything showing how to disassemble the hub, and I'm fairly new to working on my disco.. any information helps. thanks in advance.
Have you looked in the FRONT AXLE AND FINAL DRIVE section of manual for details that may be missing from videos?

Old 01-28-2018 | 05:22 PM
|
4th Gear

@number9 thank you i just looked and found the hub assembly. ill be doing the work next sunday so ill have a week to do all the research i can before then.

Old 01-28-2018 | 08:42 PM
Pro Wrench

i just looked and found the hub assembly
Swivel on the D1's looks like a ball of wax at first sight.

Just recently saw another post about them and it piqued my interest being a D2 owner. A bit different from the D2 architecture. Both have their +s & -s.

Have fun and good luck.

Old 01-29-2018 | 10:21 AM
Recovery Vehicle

The video would apply exactly to him. Defender and Discovery 1 axles are the same. Discovery 2, no