General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Bad Brake Master Cylinder?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2007, 09:55 AM
4wd High
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad Brake Master Cylinder?

When I press the brake pedal on my 99 DiscoI it goes nearly to the floor. One pump of the pedal firms them up for good stopping. The rotors and pads are fairly new, and the brake fluid is full. My mechanic say's the "one pump" symptom most probably means I have a bad Master Cylinder. Does this sound right? If so, can a novice mechaniclike me replace/rebuild the master cylinder? Where can I find a rebuilt master cylinder? I see Atlantic British has a new master cylinder for $190. Any other good sources?

Old 07-11-2007, 11:53 AM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts
Default RE: Bad Brake Master Cylinder?

How many miles on the truck and how long since you flushed the fluid?
Mike

Old 07-17-2007, 11:50 AM
4wd High

90,000 mi, don't know if they have ever been flushed. Thanks

Old 07-17-2007, 03:15 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

Start with a full brake flush and remember in the future, change the fluid in a Rover about every 20,000 miles.
If flushing doesn't work then change out the master cylinder also.
Check with Rover Connection and DAP for kits or new cylinders.
Mike

Old 07-22-2007, 07:41 PM
6th Gear

I'm having the same issue, I was driving in downtown houston and make home and when I was about to stop under my covered parking spot my trunk would not stop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Fluid is there!

Old 07-23-2007, 07:01 AM
Adz
Rock Crawling
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts