General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Engine rebuild / buy refurbished what to do?

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2014, 07:30 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Engine rebuild / buy refurbished what to do?

Hi guys! thank you so much for this amazing forum. I have learned so much about my disco.
my background, I bought a used disco - SE '04 about 2 years ago. I have had the radiator, reservoir, drive shaft and the timing cover gasket replaced. Recently it has started the "delightful"... not so much... ticking. Sounds like the cylinder sleeve.
I know of some folks who have driven like this for thousands of miles. However I'm researching the options of getting the engine overhauled. Please forgive me if some of these questions are a bit basic.. I'm a girl! and I am still learning.
Long block vs short block. I have a bosch 4.6 engine. Is a short block and long block essentially the same, except that the long block includes the valve jobs and heads?

Also, while the engine is pulled apart, what would be some other wise preventative fixes? I was thinking perhaps a new heater core, oil pump? What else would you suggest?

After much test driving of new cars, I'm thinking I want to hang on to the old gal. She handles like a dream and looks good. Some of the new cars out there are just either too klunky or too ugly. Or do you think its time to walk away and go for a 4runner /pathfinder/explorer/whatever?

again, thanks for this excellent forum
Gillian

Old 08-09-2014, 08:16 PM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

the difference between a short block and a long bock would be heads all the valve train timing chain.

basically a short block gives you the bottom half of the motor a long block gives you the top half.

yes you would want a new oil pump, water pump, plugs hoses, wires ,thermoset, and a new clutch fan. I would up-grade to the 2-pc 99-02 style.