General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

NEED HELP FAST! '00 LR Disco Wont Crank. EMERGENCY!

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 11:44 AM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation NEED HELP FAST! '00 LR Disco Wont Crank. EMERGENCY!

Hey Guys,

I figured it was time to suck up the pride and post. This is my first post by the way. I've been a mechanic for 20 years, but I mostly work on domestic, and German cars. Land Rovers are quite new to me. This one is kicking my ***.

Ok, so here goes: I have a 2000 Land Rover Disco. Last week I disconnected the battery for a transmission swap. I thought, no big deal, this is standard operating procedure. Last night I finished getting the trans back in and was in the middle of refilling the transmission. I got up and hooked the battery back up up and went to start the truck. Low and behold, the bastard wouldn't even crank over. Nothing...nada. So i checked the cables, all the fuses, etc...

I ran my scanner and pulled Code P1668. I was like WTF? So I'm thinking this damn alarm has just immobilized me. I searched the forums all night feverishly for answers, I tried everything that was suggested in previous posts. I went to http://rangerovers.net/repairdetails/becm/replace.html and tried all of their tactics as well. Friggin' nothin' works.

So, I'm sitting here with a Disco with a brand new trans, and no way to start it. I even checked the fuel inertia switch. Let me clarify this, when I turn the key, it won't even crank. So I am at a loss of what to do. Blow this beast up? Or can my fellow land rover geniuses solve the problem? Whoever figures this one out for me, I will be happy to mail you a $10 gift certificate to a place of your choosing. Thanks in advance guys.

Gabe

Old 11-08-2010, 12:30 PM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts