LR2 Talk about the Land Rover LR2 within.

2008 lr2 HSE short weak crank won't start.

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2021, 09:41 PM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 lr2 HSE short weak crank won't start.

My lr2 wouldn't start a couple weeks ago. I checked the battery (I'm by no means a mechanic) and the voltage was low. I can't remember what it was at now but under 12v.

I charged the battery with my bench power supply using a voltage of 13.8 and current at 1 amp but I don't think I actually charged it to 12.6v. I probably got it up to 12 at least and thought it would start but it didn't. I assumed it was the starter or alternator but had to go away for a bit.

Anyway, I just talked to a mechanic and he said I need at least 12.6 volts and that's possibly why it won't start. Is this true? I googled it at the time and got a different impression but I'm sure I wasn't reading posts from Landrover owners.
What should I charge it to before attempting again?
I should also mention in the weeks leading up to the no start issue I was only making short trips to the store and back. Is it possible that's why it suddenly wouldn't start and a charge will fix it?

Old 08-05-2021, 11:27 PM
Winching
Received 139 Likes on 116 Posts

Why not connect a charger/jump start to it and see if it starts? But, in my opinion, you have a dead but lazy to fall battery. Time to replace.

Old 08-06-2021, 03:15 AM
6th Gear

The battery is about a year old. I have an older battery that I put in to see if it would start but it still didn't. Although I'm not sure if that one was charged up to 12.6 volts either when I tried it.
Can I try and jump start it with the spare battery?

I think I'm actually getting a longer crank then I was before. Even though it just sat for a couple weeks since my last attempt.

Last time I had it at the mechanic he said he found a mouse nest in the engine. I'm starting to wonder if it's something like that now.

Last edited by TLR2; 08-06-2021 at 10:53 AM.