LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help! Out of town and weird noise!

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2015, 10:00 PM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Help! Out of town and weird noise!

On my way down to the Redwoods from Seattle, I started to heard a front end noise that sounded like it was penetrating through the right wheel, after two days it has gotten worse, when driving straight the noise ALMOST goes away, when taking a LEFT TURN the grinding and noise is almost completely gone, but taking a RIGHT TURN has an intense grind that can be felt in the throttle. MOST noticeable at 30 - 40 mph.

First thought was front diff, but just changed the oil at 72k. Oil didnt smell or look to bad. At almost 75k now, and were still a LONG way from home

Its a 2007 LR3 V8 HSE.

PLEASE, ANY ADVICE OR HELP WOULD BE AMAZING!

Old 01-25-2015, 10:41 PM
Drifting
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Sounds like a bad CV joint to me. I'm not too technical and I'm sure others with more knowledge will reply but have been through that before. Sounds similar.

Old 01-25-2015, 11:09 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 459 Likes on 410 Posts

...impossible to narrow down. You need Chassis Ears. Could be bearing, CV-Joint, either driveshaft, either differential, transfer case. Wish I could be of more help.

On another note, per your auto-sig your LR3 sounds sweet. I'm in the Seattle area as well, if you want to go wheelin' this spring drop me a PM. I have a small group of guys that go out to a handful of spots.

Old 01-26-2015, 02:15 AM
Mudding

Originally Posted by houm_wa
...impossible to narrow down. You need Chassis Ears.

On another note, per your auto-sig your LR3 sounds sweet. I'm in the Seattle area as well, if you want to go wheelin' this spring drop me a PM. I have a small group of guys that go out to a handful of spots.