LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New LR3 Project

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2015, 08:09 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New LR3 Project

Ok, so I wanted to write and introduce myself and my rover. I purchased a 2005 se v6 rover three weeks ago with 129k on the clock. I've built three land cruisers and enjoyed a good deal of overlanding experience in Montana and the western states. Just moved to Tennessee this past year and decided to finally switch over to the rover fold. I've always watched from a distance and loved their abilities as well as comfort.

So that being said I got a pretty good deal on the rover. Thankfully due to you guys and this site I was able to point out so many small issues i got them down quite a bit on cost. I grew up in an auto shop and I'm an engineer so I'm pretty handy but i'm already learning I need to ask questions.

Anyway on to the tech;

The few things I noticed right off was the airbag light on the dash is on, there is a driveline noise, and a back window doesn't roll down at the drivers switch.

First thing I did was change all diff fluid in hopes I could diagnose the noise, nothing changed there. The fluid was very dark and the drain plugs were covered in a gummy substance and metal shavings, nothing crazy but a good deal of it. So i moved on to the transfer case, still no change in the noise.

Goal: Build a capable over landing vehicle that can take the family to remote locations. Not building a rock crawler. I want a comfortable ride for the week that is good on a mild trail to get to places i couldn't with a car...

wins:

1. I took apart the window switch and found a shorted connection, cleaned it up and added some dielectric grease and now she works great.

2. I cleaned the MAF sensor and Throttle position sensor. Both helped level out the idle.

3. Added some lift rods to give it a better stance, will post updated pics tomorrow. Looks good but caused another concern.