LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suspension fault, not building enough pressure

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2017, 10:47 PM
Mudding
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Suspension fault, not building enough pressure

I am trying to track down the cause of my EAS not building pressure. Symptoms are a recurring C1A20-64 code, amber fault light accompanied by "normal ride height only" message, suspension rising slowly warning if I am able to select off road ride height and a best of about 150psi gallery pressure. It builds pressure
v e r y s l o w l y. If I select off-road height, the back snaps right up and the front takes forever, if it makes it before it sets a fault.

I am new to the LR3 and am trying to read as much as possible, but I have not really found a good order steps to track my problem down. I haven't really found a good through explanation of how the system is plumbed or operates, so I'm trying to piece that together in pieces.

So far I have rebuilt the compressor with an x8r kit with new piston ring, glide ring and associated o-rings and drier refresh kit with an aluminum end cap. After re-installing the compressor nothing changed. I am currently in the process of letting it sit overnight, starting at off-road height, with the fuse pulled to disable auto-leveling. After about 8 hours I've had a 5mm drop LF and RR. I'll measure again before I leave in the morning. Unfortunately I need to use it tomorrow so it'll only sit 19-20 hours. I haven't noticed it dropping in the short time I've had it.

Thoughts I've had:
Air leaks- I checked the compressor fittings after re-installing with soapy water and found none there. I can't audibly hear anything. My thoughts were a leak bad enough to limit me to 150psi of pressure would be loud enough to hear. I may be wrong on that.