LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thinking of buying an LR3 - What should I know?

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2014, 12:42 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thinking of buying an LR3 - What should I know?

I'm looking for a new vehicle for my wife. She loves the LR3's. While they're not NEARLY as practical (for us) as a minivan (also considering an 05-10 Honda Odyssey), they're 10x cooler and more capable. We have 3 daughers (ages 7, 4, and 1) and are in the process of adopting another child (most likely between 1-3 years old) which should hopefully be finalized in the next 1-2 years. We will drive this a lot - probably between 25-30K miles a year. Not all highway... lots of stops here and there in town. We plan on taking a 75K-125K miles vehicle to about 250K miles.

So - what do I need to know? Please be as thorough as possible, as I'm new to Land Rover's. While I'm an advocate of the Odyssey's, there are some problems that I'm aware of...

- Hit or miss on a getting a strong transmission.
- Timing Belt is a must around 110K.
- Power steering affects more than the amount of recalled vehicles.
- Years 05 & 06 gets better fuel mileage than the 07-10.
- Touring Trim use run flat tires which don't get near as many miles.
- etc.

That's the type of things I'm looking for. If you could spell out the bad (primarily), the good (be sparingly on these - I'm sure you guys could go on forever), and the ugly, I'd be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Old 12-08-2014, 02:02 PM
Super Moderator
Received 226 Likes on 196 Posts

You need to look for a vehicle with documented maintenance, best if dealer maintained

Vehicle must be worked on at a dealer or independent rover specialty shop

Diffs go bad, electrical problems, sunroof drains clog causing leaks, vehicle is heavy expect tires, brakes,suspension work

Fuel mileage can be bad