LR3 Talk about the Land Rover LR3 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Unknown I/O switch next to Terrain Response

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 10:04 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Unknown I/O switch next to Terrain Response

I'm new to all things 4x4 and so far loving my new (to me) LR3. Before I go pulling apart trim panels to trace wires, does anyone know of any common mods that this on/off switch could be for? Nothing seems to happen when flicking it on and off.

Thanks!

Old 03-19-2017, 11:05 AM
Winching
Received 71 Likes on 62 Posts

It certainly isn't factory. Common add-ons are Amplifier and extra lights. The wires might not go anywhere. If it has an Amp or Light Bar, they could have removed those items prior to selling, therefore have no function.

The following users liked this post:
disco-matt (03-20-2017)
Old 03-19-2017, 05:42 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 139 Likes on 110 Posts

Most common mod would probably be lighting or a winch control, but that certainly isn't a winch control. Who knows with aftermarket stuff... if it doesn't actually switch any of your lights on or off, you may want to look under the hood and see if there are any aftermarket harnesses. Otherwise, you've got some circuit tracing to do.

disco-matt (03-20-2017)
Old 03-19-2017, 10:54 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 144 Likes on 127 Posts
Default nice location for a switch

That plate the switch is mounted on pops off to provide access to the gear shift lever shift release toggle to get it out of Park for towing etc. You pop off the plate and there is toggle to fool around with - page 176 of the "Driving Manual" in my 2005 LR3 book.

Also within is the manual release for the parking brake emergency release cable. To get the parking brake released when the electrics fail etc you pull out the coin tray and there is a wire rope loop to yank on - page 185 of the "Driving Manual" in my 2005 LR3 book.