LR4 Talk about the Land Rover LR4 within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LR4 Timing Chain

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2022, 09:03 AM
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default LR4 Timing Chain

Potential newbie here. I'm aware of the timing chain issue of the 2010-2012 production line. Consensus seems to be the guides can fail at any mileage, but usually around the 100k mark. What I'm not clear on is the inevitability. Will “all” LR4s eventually have this problem? Are there any machines out there beyond 150k, 200k miles with the same chain/guides? Just trying to understand the risk..

Thank much in advance!

Old 02-13-2022, 03:19 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 107 Likes on 89 Posts

Some people have reported long miles and no problems, but not sure if they might have the late 2012 or 2013 models that had updated guides. The problem seems to be two-fold based on my reading.

First, the guides were aluminum and the tensioners had a steel piston that pressed against the aluminum guide to tension the chain. The chain vibrates and the steel piston eventually wears a notch into the tensioner, requiring the piston to travel farther to achieve the same tension. Eventually, the piston can’t travel far enough to keep tension, and the chain starts to slacken.

Second, I’ve heard the hydraulic tensioners themselves can fail. I’m not certain of the mode of failure here, but it might have been a ratcheting mechanism that would fail allowing the chain to go slack once the engine is turned off. Basically, the engine oil pressure is supposed to push the piston out of the device (which presses the guide agains the chain), and a ratchet is supposed to prevent the piston from relaxing entirely, so it keeps a certain amount of tension on the chain when the engine is turned off (my understanding at least).