Modifications Done some work to your Land Rover to make it better on road or off? Talk about it here!

Roof rack reviews?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2009, 09:47 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Roof rack reviews?

I'm going to be looking for a full roof rack and ladder, probably as a Christmas present to myself.

I'm a photographer, and an incipient iReporter, so my goal is to find something that I can stand up on, with maybe 10-15 pounds of tripod and camcorder.

I weigh about 240.

Yeah, I know: lose weight. :-)

I've seen the ratings in the Owner Handbook for how much weight you can put on a roof rack... and yet I see roof tents.

How much weight -- in addition to the rack itself, course -- can you *really* safely put atop a non-moving Disco? Which rack? What decking?

I do plan on some lights, and other assorted crap; static loading will probably be the rack itself plus 10-15 pounds.

Last edited by Baylink; 11-05-2009 at 01:30 PM.
Old 11-05-2009, 11:07 AM
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

you need this http://www.roverparts.com/Parts/9340.cfm
and this http://www.roverparts.com/Parts/STC8125OE.cfm
and some chicken coop flooring so you can walk around safely. like this

Name:  060.jpg
Views: 1132
Size:  142.8 KB

Old 11-05-2009, 11:42 AM
Rock Crawling

The rack you link is not a two-level like yours, which I'd prefer...

Old 11-05-2009, 12:59 PM

if you want the one with two levels you need either a safety devices rack which they dont make so you will have to get used. or you can get a rack from http://www.roverracks.com/DIIVR.htm I like the one for $1200 they look very similar to the SD racks.

Old 11-06-2009, 01:32 AM
Overlanding
Default BajaRack makes Land Rover racks