Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

InControl Updates Failing

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2020, 01:51 PM
1st Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default InControl Updates Failing

Hi Everyone! New to forum and first time Land Rover owner.

We bought a 2019 Disco 5 and for most part love it. The only complaint i really have is the infotainment system is maddening! I do IT for a living so my patience for buggy technology can get the best of me, but i've spent hours upon hours trying to update the system from 18C -> 19C.

I've read every forum post i can find and cannot seem to find anyone with same issue i'm having. I've already been to dealer and show'd them how to use Topix and check that updates are enabled and available. They seem confused in general...

When i check for updates i am presented with 19C as available, so I hit install and download begins. I've gotten to the point where i can see that the Disco downloads about 250MB and the update says is 217MB, so i can confirm it connects and downloads firmware fro servers.

After downloading it switches to ready to install and i click Install. In saying Installing... for about 15-20 minutes and then just disappears, never says complete or anything.

Then the update screen just goes back to Check for Updates, and you can repeat the whole 1 hour process again only to not install.

I've tried over cellular and wifi, i've tried 10 times over different days, i've unhooked battery and pulled fuse to infotainment system to force a full reboot, etc...

I've even called LR customer support only to get punted back to dealer that doesn't seem to understand computers at all.

Please tell me i'm missing something!?

The following users liked this post:
longtrip68 (05-16-2020)
Old 04-05-2020, 04:34 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts

Sorry - there's no trick. It should update pretty effortlessly, or you'll need your dealer to install it. My 2019 has done 2-3 OTA updates without any issue.

Old 04-05-2020, 03:36 PM