Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Wheel Offset vs Spacers

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2021, 10:43 AM
Overlanding
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Wheel Offset vs Spacers

I'm really new to the Land Rover brand, like one month new.

My Fuji White, Dynamic Pack came with the 20" silver wheels and I want to change them over to black to match the grill and trim. I'm thinking of purchasing aftermarket wheels or possibly painting the factory wheels.
If I go the aftermarket route what would be the max offset that you would recommend to bring the tires out like wheel spacers would do? I am also going to replace the Pirelli Scorpions with Toyo A/T 3 and would like to go with 275/55r20's. Is is possible for the local dealer to flash the ECM to the new tire size in order to have the correct speedometer reading?

Thank you for any help and experience that you can provide me with.

The following users liked this post:
New2LRinCA (10-27-2021)
Old 10-26-2021, 05:12 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 237 Likes on 165 Posts

Speedo should be off by only 3 percent but as the tires wear this percentage drops. And different brands of tires vary a little bit in diameter and circumference even for a specific size.
Not worth any adjustment to the software even if it were possible.
Just know that at 60 mph indicated on you dash you might be going almost 62.

Masbury (10-27-2021)
Old 10-27-2021, 11:59 AM
Drifting
Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

Following because I’m doing the same with wheels (including the size and tire model) but planning to stick with 255’s. Rather than mess with adjusting for offset I’ve been looking for RR take-offs. It’s a bit of a pain to come up with wheels in black. I might just powdercoat the ones I have.