New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

First Time Rover!

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2022 | 09:24 AM
|
3rd Gear
Default First Time Rover!

Hi Guys!
I am new to land rovers in general but I have worked on and rebuilt a few cars over the years now. Hopefully my skills are enough to keep an aging land rover on the road!
I have been wanting to get into a discovery 1 or 2 for the past 6 months, but everything I found was clapped out or waaaaaay overpriced!

I was worried at first about reliability but after seeing tons of disco's pushing over 150k miles, it seems the community has sorted them out.
So, finally after a long search I found my silver 2003 se7 discovery 2!
It has no modifications other than a steel bumper, lowish mileage (72k), and new tires!

I was very pleased to drive it home and have no lights on the dash, a almost perfect interior, and clean coolant.

So comes the problems......
The brakes are murderously weak. The brake pedal is very soft and slowly presses to the floor even when pumped. I am now sourcing new master cylinder, brake lines, pads, and rotors.
I got it home safely, but it rained that night.

The next morning, I Woke up to Water leaks in every possible spot! Sunroof clogged drains, leaky windshield, possible A-pillar Leak, possible Alpine window leak, And Lastly possible roof rack!

Luckily after some interneting I believe all this is easy to solve and of course the headliner needs to be remade. I believe this truck was mostly stored in a garage or a shop, because with leaks like these the truck would have been ruined within a week with Houston rain.

My plans moving forward now are to fully restore the discovery to its former glory with maybe a few tasteful mods. My goal is to have a showroom new looking discovery with camel trophy style capabilities.

My current punch list follows:

· Fix brake system