New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Hi everybody im new to rovers i love em but have questions

Old 12-08-2016, 07:19 PM
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hi everybody im new to rovers i love em but have questions

Ho hey i am 22 year old car dealer in Massachusetts and I've always loved 4x4 vehicles Hummers, Jeeps, but I really fell in love with the discovery 2 that I bought at the auction I paid $1,800 for a 2003 Discovery 2 se7 with 75000 miles on june 15 2016 and I really want to build it. I love the freakin thing! it's completely stock I need suggestions and any advice that someone with experience can tell me I'd like to spend maybe a thousand or two thousand and fixing it up I've already done an oil change but I would like to service the transmission and do all the work myself that's something I told my dad who owns the dealership when he said how crazy I was for buying a Land Rover I said I want to be forced to learn about rovers and how they work mechanically because I really am a novice but I have the money the patience and willingness to learn about them and enjoy them.

**i am storing it till march of 17 cause my dumb*ss friend took it and rear ended a new Porsche suv, guy he hit was from Georgia and didnt see the plate so im good but need to hide it from insurance company or my dads plate insurance will go to 15k a year. And he said he hit him at 10mph and NO damage to rovers front, runs like new**

1. I have what my mechanics say are noisy lifters only when its at operating temp and sounds like its at the top of the motor. Want to know if nice thick Rotella 15w 40 will help, or maybe a wash.

2. Like an idiot i poured pure dexcool into the thing and then changed to 50% h20 50% dex but want to know if i should switch to something different after flushing it.