New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Land Rover Mythbusters

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2008, 04:17 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Land Rover Mythbusters

I am a prospective owner of a 1995-2004 Land Rover Discovery/Range Rover.

I was wondering if someone could help me out with some of the myths I have heard about Land Rovers.

1- Land Rovers have to run on Premium gas

2- It will cost you an arm and a leg to maintain your land rover such as $160.00 wiper blades

Also here are some other general qustions I have but I have not neccisarily heard as myths

Can I get the oil changed at a Quicky lube place?

Is there anything else I should know before I purchase a Used Land Rover?

Thanks,

Old 02-18-2008, 04:27 PM
4th Gear
Default RE: Land Rover Mythbusters

Also are these trucks easy to work on? I am a shade tree mechanic and had an 1988 Dodge Ramcharger I worked on a few easy things, but I am not an expert mechanic.

Old 02-18-2008, 08:04 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well...the first thing you have to do is decide what you want.1995-2004 Range/Discovery needs to get narrowed down a tad. There is a huge margin there,both in vehicle quality and price.Do some more research...test drive a few different models and years and decide what you want to spend. Narrow your search to a specific model and start scouring the forums for info.

Old 02-18-2008, 08:59 PM
4th Gear

I would reaally love a 1999-2004 Disco II but it all depends on price and availiblity. I have my eyes on a 2001 right now but I am still in the early stages of looking. I test drove a 2003? last year and liked it but I still need to do some research. I just showed my wife a picture of the Disco II and her first comment was " we can not afford to fix it if it breaks" Help me out I need some ammunition for this fight..

Old 02-18-2008, 09:14 PM
Winching
Received 1 Like on 1 Post