New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

New member in Columbia, MO

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2010, 04:31 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 84 Likes on 73 Posts
Default New member in Columbia, MO

This may be one of the longest new member posts, but I'm feeling talkative.

I work as a service manager for a local independent repair shop. About 2.5 years ago, I had to drive a customer's Disco I to an upholstery shop. While driving it there, my thoughts: Why would anyone drive one of these? You sit 3 feet in the air, it's slow, and all of the controls, switches, and handles are in the wrong place. Two days later, I drove it back to our shop. My thoughts on that drive: You sit 3 feet in the air, BUT the view is incredible. It's slow, BUT it's all wheel drive and can go anywhere you want to go. All of the controls, switches, and handles are in the wrong place, BUT it's from England, and so quirky and eccentric. I want one!

Wife gave me a budget, so after much searching, I found a 2000 Disco II for cheap at an Army base 120 miles from me. It was extremely clean, only had 88k miles, but knocked while cranking, and wouldn't start. I bought it and had it trailered back to my house.