New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

A new wave/design for LandRovers???

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2007, 12:45 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A new wave/design for LandRovers???

Hi everyone!!!!

Here we are, I'm an automotive design student at Swansea Institute (Wales), and we've been given a brief to design a new LandRover by Andy Wheel (Chief Designer of LandRover) and I thought I would ask you, what do you expect from this brand for the future? A new kind of vehicle? A coupé? A van? Would you like to see some kind of organic shapes? A round roof? A sedan look? Some amphibious? More seats? A smaller 4x4? Something less "boxy"? I leave it to you and I'll wait for your answers ... Thanks a lot for your precious help!!!! Enjoy your drive!!!!

[IMG]local://upfiles/5570/C82E70EA9828497388EBC808FDDCCB1E.jpg[/IMG]

Old 02-28-2007, 01:50 PM
Drifting
Default RE: A new wave/design for LandRovers???

Forward control. Bring back the 101. Just don't go all Judge Dredd on us.

Seriously, FC is great - better visibility, way more cargo room or passenger space. Not sure how to make it safe, but that isn't the designer's job anyhow.

The Brits are now building the Pinzgauer, which hasn't really ever had a redesign. The world apparently needs more vehicles that are safer around land mines and improvised munitions, seems like a v-shaped charge deflector could be grafted on to a FC vehicle and at least be better than a Hummer. Saw an article about these recently and governments were buying them for 750,000 each. But a civilian version of the same should be sellable as well.

Failing that, one of the aspects that used to make Land Rover have appeal was the customizability of the Defender series - you could get anywhere from hard top 90 station wagon to flat bed 130 with tow truck gear, on basically the same platform.