Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Maybe replace 4Runner with a Defender

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2021, 01:44 PM
Drifting
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Maybe replace 4Runner with a Defender

Hello LR enthusiasts! I'm new to the brand. I've had a string of Toyota 4x4's since the early 90's. They've served me well, no complaints, but I'm ready for a change. When I saw the new Defender, I was hooked.

Thing is, my brain is telling me not to get it. My current 4Runner has <30K on it. It has at least another 100k in it, easy, with nothing more than maintenance and consumables (tires, brakes). Sure, I hate that it's part time 4WD. I wish it had a center diff, preferably limited slip, but it's still more than capable of any off road task I will ever ask of it. And of course my brain is concerned with the potential (probable?) reliability issues. I certainly wouldn't want an issue 50 miles from the nearest cell tower. Or even if I was just on a ski trip or something, some little ski resort town isn't going to have a shop that can deal with a Defender.

My heart though, really wants one. It tells me it's worth putting up with the issues. So what if I have to reboot the infotainment system now and then. I need to reboot my laptop now and then, right? Same thing, right? The Terrain Response system is just too cool. All the other tech, like the rear view mirror camera, 4x4 info display, all the other camera views, scratches my tech itch in ways the 4Runner just can't. And if the inside gets dirty, just grab a hose and hose it out! Plus there's the legacy of the original Defender and Series models.

I think of it like this. A 4Runner is like your mother. She'll always be there for you, do whatever you need, and hardly ask for anything in return. Just remember to call her on her birthday.

The Defender, on the other hand, is like your mistress. The $ex is incredible, but she throws a fit every now and then, and you need to buy her expensive things to keep her happy!