My Defender X order cancelled by LR

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2021, 08:34 AM
Drifting
Received 30 Likes on 14 Posts
Default My Defender X order cancelled by LR

Just got off the phone with my sales guy at Land Rover
Was expecting delivery of my 2022 Defender X next month
All orders of X models cancelled at the moment apparently due to smoked tail light issues

Old 07-16-2021, 09:00 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 1,255 Likes on 747 Posts

Wow. That changes a bit. By leading everyone on for a "future" delivery of weeks/months to go, they were able to hold onto any deposits. Now they will have to cough up the cash. Even a "non-refundable" deposit will be invalid if they can't provide the service/sale. I'm no lawyer (but a pretty seasoned Sea-lawyer). I think you need an offer, acceptance, and consideration for any contract (written, verbal or other). Without the ability to provide the resulting product from the deposit, that's a slam dunk for anyone willing to lawyer up.

Old 07-16-2021, 09:51 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 1,407 Likes on 710 Posts

Originally Posted by GrouseK9
Wow. That changes a bit. By leading everyone on for a "future" delivery of weeks/months to go, they were able to hold onto any deposits. Now they will have to cough up the cash. Even a "non-refundable" deposit will be invalid if they can't provide the service/sale. I'm no lawyer (but a pretty seasoned Sea-lawyer). I think you need an offer, acceptance, and consideration for any contract (written, verbal or other). Without the ability to provide the resulting product from the deposit, that's a slam dunk for anyone willing to lawyer up.
I don't think most people who are buying a $90k truck care that much about a $1500 deposit to the point where they're "lawyering up".

​​​​​​It's an expected 3 month delay on X & V8. Realistically, what are these people going to do, order a Bronco?

As much as we bitch about delays, it just makes us want it more and there aren't any alternatives out there.